Canada: Canadian Investment Fund Regulatory Review For Q3 - 2015

Last Updated: October 22 2015
Article by Jarrod Isfeld and Marek Lorenc

The Canadian investment fund industry has been the subject of various regulatory developments in the third quarter of 2015. This bulletin provides a summary of certain key takeaways that will be useful for investment fund and industry professionals to stay abreast of recent changes.

1. Amendments to the Toronto Stock Exchange ("TSX") Company Manual related to Non-Corporate Issuers

On September 17, 2015, the TSX Company Manual was amended to include additional requirements for Exchange Traded Products ("ETPs"), Structured Products and Closed-end Funds. (collectively, "Non-Corporate Issuers"). Certain amendments include:

  • Minimum market capitalization - To be listed on the TSX, Non-Corporate Issuers must satisfy the following market capitalization minimums:

    • Exchange Traded Product - $1,000,000;
    • Structured Product - $1,000,000; and
    • Closed-end Fund - $10,000,000.
  • Net asset value - Non-Corporate Issuers must calculate net asset value with the following frequency and maintain a publicly accessible website displaying same:

    • Exchange Traded Product - at least daily;
    • Structured Product - weekly; and
    • Closed-end Fund - as required under applicable securities laws.

The amendments, located on the Ontario Securities Commission website, also codify the existing TSX practices in respect of Non-Corporate Issuers related to capital structure, including the issuance of securities as well as additional and supplemental listings, among others.

2. The Montreal Exchange and ICE Futures Canada receive direct access to the US Commodity Futures Trading Commission ("CFTC")

On August 26, 2015, the CFTC issued Orders of Registration ("Orders") to the Montreal Exchange, Inc. ("MX") and ICE Futures Canada, Inc. ("ICEFC"), Canada's leading derivatives exchange and agricultural derivatives platform, respectively. As a result of the Orders, the MX and the ICEFC are able to provide their identified members or other participants located in the US with direct access to their electronic order entry and trade matching system.

The ICEFC will offer direct access for futures and options contracts on milling wheat, canola, durum wheat, and barley. The MX will offer direct access for futures contracts on interest rates and certain broad-based security indices as well as options on futures contracts based on the Canadian overnight repo rate average and on ten-year Government of Canada bonds.

3. Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada ("MFDA") proposes proficiency requirements for selling ETFs

On July 22, 2015, the MFDA published Bulletin #0653-P, which outlines proposed proficiency requirements for Approved Persons selling exchange-traded mutual funds ("ETFs"). The MFDA noted that there are important differences between ETFs and conventional mutual funds, and that the existing courses and examinations do not sufficiently address the sale of ETFs under National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations to sell conventional mutual funds.

4. Use of "index" in investment fund names and objectives

On July 9, 2015, Ontario Securities Commission ("OSC") staff published OSC Staff Notice 81-728 Use of "Index" in Investment Fund Names and Objectives, which sets out guidance for investment funds whose investment objectives are to replicate the performance of an index, and which include the word "index" in their names ("Index Tracking Funds").

OSC staff noted that in order to make use of, and to refer to, "index" in the Index Tracking Fund's name and prospectus disclosure, the index whose performance is being replicated (the "Methodology") should:

  1. be absent of material discretion by the index provider or any others involved in the administration of the index; and
  2. the index must be transparent (e.g. akin to the Methodology or the constituents of the index available to the public).

Where discretion and transparency do not exist, the Methodology aligns more with an active investment strategy, and not an index.

5. OSC releases July 2015 edition of The Investment Funds Practitioner ("Practitioner")

The Practitioner is an overview of topical issues arising from applications for discretionary relief, prospectuses, and continuous disclosure documents filed by investment funds with the OSC. The following are certain notable items from the July edition:

  • Prospectus disclosure - In connection with prospectus reviews, OSC staff will continue to focus on fees, expenses and investment objectives/strategy disclosure as noted in an earlier November 2013 edition, and will now also place greater emphasis on reviewing disclosure relating to the different classes or series of securities offered by investment funds.
  • Default mutual fund distribution selection - Where funds offer fixed rate distribution securities, also known as "T-Series", the default selection for distributions made to holders of such securities should be set as cash payout, not reinvestment, as the general purpose of T-Series is to provide monthly cash flow to investors.
  • Mutual funds to cease holding securities of closed-end funds - In connection with recent amendments to NI 81-102, the Modernization Amendments, mutual funds are prohibited from investing/holding securities of closed-end funds. Mutual funds that filed a prospectus on or before September 22, 2014 have until March 21, 2016 to comply with the requirement unless granted exceptive relief.
  • Detailed disclosure of Investment Review Committee Compensation ("IRC") - Mutual funds must ensure their prospectus contains detailed disclosure of compensation provided to members of the IRC pursuant to National Instrument 81-107 Independent Review Committee for Investment Funds. Disclosure of amounts paid to the entire IRC in the aggregate is insufficient, rather what is required is disclosure of specific amounts paid to individual members and includes any expenses reimbursed by the fund.
  • Scope of future-oriented relief for pooled funds investing in related pooled funds - OSC staff will limit relief granted for future fund-on-fund structures (future-oriented relief), to specific facts/structures that trigger the need for the relief in the first instance, and which the filer expects to implement in the near future. This is in contrast to the more broadly framed future-oriented relief previously granted, which included relief for structures not yet actually planned, and which may not have been substantially similar in features and purposes to those structures described in the applications.
  • Industry awards in sales communications - Reference to industry awards in sales communications must be discontinued. OSC staff is of the view that while certain awards, (namely those that are based on objective criterion and are prepared by a mutual fund rating entity) are permitted by Part 15 of NI 81-102, industry awards more often include a subjective component and thus are not permitted under NI 81-102.

6. OSC guidance on mutual fund practices and portfolio liquidity

On June 25, 2015, the OSC released Staff Notice 81-727 Report on Staff's Continuous Disclosure Review of Mutual Fund Practices Relating to Portfolio Liquidity. Following the OSC's targeted review of 22 funds, consisting of conventional mutual funds and ETFs, the key recommendations include:

Liquidity assessments of fund holdings

  • Robust and highly tailored policies and procedures - Funds should have robust written policies and procedures on liquidity assessments at the time of an investment purchase, and on an ongoing basis. Funds' written policies and procedures, and their liquidity metrics, should be tailored for different asset classes.
  • Timely settlement of redemption notice - Funds should consider whether their investment holdings can be readily disposed of and settled in the three day redemption period set out in National Instrument 81-102 Investment Funds ("NI 81-102"). The OSC staff noted that simply being listed on a stock exchange with a quoted price is not generally sufficient to conclude that a particular holding is liquid, and at a price that approximates the amount at which the portfolio asset is valued.

Liquidity stress testing

  • Written stress testing policies and procedures - Funds should have written stress testing policies and procedures that speak to the order of asset liquidation. This is to ensure the fund can effectively execute redemption in stressed market conditions while minimizing the impact to the portfolio and the remaining unitholders.
  • Redemption scenario analysis - In performing stress testing, funds should incorporate into their scenario analysis redemption rates that exceed past redemption experience, and should consider the impact of market conditions and other scenarios on the portfolio, including geopolitical developments, among others.

Liquidity valuation

  • Fair value determination for net asset value - A fair value assessment of an investment based on the quoted market price requires that there be an active market. In assessing whether an investment meets the illiquid asset restrictions under NI 81-102, funds must consider the 'active market' guidance provided in International Financial Reporting Standards 13 ("IFRS 13").
  • Additional disclosure for non-active market fair value determinations - Where an investment is not quoted in an active market, the fair value determination, in accordance with NI 81-102, is determined based not on the quoted price but rather a consideration of other inputs. In such cases, additional disclosure is required in respect of such investments in the funds' financial statements and in accordance with IFRS 13.
  • Independent review of illiquid asset valuation - In order to manage and limit actual/perceived conflicts of interest in connection with the Investment Fund Manager's ("IFM") valuation of illiquid assets, IFMs must have standing instructions from the funds' independent review committee in regards to its valuation policies and procedures.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.