Canada: Site C Update – Federal Court Judicial Review Proceedings To Commence This Week, Following BC Hydro's Receipt Of Provincial Authorizations To Begin Construction

This article provides a consolidated overview of recent developments in the six judicial review proceedings challenging the governmental approvals of Site C. Please check our blog for future updates on key developments in the proceedings.


BC Hydro's Site C Clean Energy Project (Site C) is being proposed as a key project to meet the Province's long-term electricity needs. If it proceeds, Site C will involve the construction of a third dam and 1,100 megawatt hydroelectric generating station on the Peace River in northeastern British Columbia.

On October 14, 2014, following the release of the environmental assessment report of the Joint Review Panel (JRP) on May 1, 2014, Site C received environmental approvals from the provincial and federal governments. In particular, it received: (i) an environmental assessment certificate (EA Certificate) from the BC Minister of Environment and approval of the EA Certificate by the Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resources Operations; and (ii) a decision of the Governor in Council (Justification Decision) finding that the significant adverse environmental effects of the Project identified in the decision statement of the Federal Minister of the Environment (Decision Statement) were justified in the circumstances. On December 16, 2014, the Province of BC announced its approval of Site C.

Between June and December 2014, six applications for judicial review were filed in the BC Supreme Court and Federal Court by various Treaty 8 First Nations located in BC and Alberta, and by the Peace Valley Landowner Association (PVLA), challenging various governmental decisions and approvals in connection with Site C. The status of each of these proceedings is discussed below.

Despite the ongoing nature of the legal challenges to Site C, the BC Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations issued certain initial authorizations for Site C on July 7, 2015 under the Land Act, Forest Act, Water Act and Wildlife Act, authorizing commencement of construction activities such as timber removal, road building and other preparatory work.

1. British Columbia Supreme Court Proceedings

The two petitions filed in the BC Supreme Court were heard between April 20 and May 6, 2015. The court released a decision in the PVLA application on July 2, 2015, while judgment is reserved in the Treaty 8 First Nation proceeding.

Peace Valley Landowner Association

The PVLA is an incorporated society that represents local landowners that may be affected by Site C. By petition filed on October 28, 2014, the PVLA sought to set aside the provincial decisions to issue the EA Certificate. On July 2, 2015, Justice Sewell released the court's decision in Peace Valley Landowner Association v. British Columbia (Environment), 2015 BCSC 1129. The central issue in the litigation was whether the BC Minister of Environment and Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations (Ministers) gave adequate consideration to the recommendations of the JRP, and in particular the recommendations to address various economic considerations relating to the costs, benefits, need for and alternatives to Site C (Economic Recommendations).

By way of background, following the EAO's review of the JRP's report, the Executive Director of the Environmental Assessment Office (EAO) advised the Ministers that the Economic Recommendations were outside the scope of the JRP's mandate in the environmental assessment process and should not be made conditions of the EA Certificate. Accordingly, the Ministers issued the EA Certificate, but excluded the Economic Recommendations from the conditions to be attached to the EA Certificate.

The court agreed with the positions taken by BC Hydro and the Ministers that none of the Economic Recommendations could properly have been made conditions to the EA Certificate, as they were directed at government rather than BC Hydro or did not directly affect Site C. Accordingly, the court held that there was no basis to conclude that the Director had erred when he advised the Ministers that the Economic Recommendations were outside the scope of the JRP's mandate. In the result, the Ministers' treatment of the Economic Recommendations was held to be reasonable in the circumstances, and the court dismissed PVLA's petition.

BC Treaty 8 First Nations (Prophet River First Nation, West Moberly First Nations and McLeod Lake Indian Band)

Three Treaty 8 First Nations (Prophet River First Nations, West Moberly First Nations, and McLeod Lake Indian Band) filed this petition on December 22, 2014. However, McLeod Lake Indian Band withdrew its petition following the hearing and ceased to be a party to the proceedings on July 2, 2015.

The First Nations sought to quash the issuance of the EA Certificate on various grounds, including on the basis that the issuance of the EA Certificate was an unjustified infringement of their Treaty 8 rights and in breach of the Crown's duty to consult. They also sought an injunction preventing the Ministers from issuing any permits or authorizations, or taking any other action for the purpose of enabling Site C to proceed in whole or in part, and an injunction enjoining BC Hydro from performing any work pursuant to the EA Certificate until the petition is decided by the court.

The Ministers maintained that they engaged in deep consultation with Treaty 8 First Nations during the Site C review process and acted in a manner consistent with the honour of the Crown. They also argued that the issue of whether Treaty 8 rights had been infringed was not suitable for summary disposition on judicial review, as it would require a full consideration of the evidence and historical record.

As noted above, the court heard the First Nations' petition following the PVLA's petition in April and May 2015, and the judgment is under reserve.

2. Federal Court Proceedings

Four judicial review applications were also filed in the Federal Court challenging various aspects of the review process that preceded Ministerial approval of Site C. Mikisew Cree First Nation and Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation recently withdrew their application, but the remainder of the applications are scheduled to be heard together in Vancouver from July 21 to July 24, 2015. A concise summary of each of these legal challenges is provided below.

Peace Valley Landowner Association

In this petition filed on November 6, 2014, the PVLA seeks to set aside the Justification Decision of the Governor in Council as well as the Decision Statement of the Federal Minister of Environment, on the grounds that their determinations that the significant adverse effects of Site C are justified are not reasonable in light of the recommendations of the JRP. In particular, they argue that since the JRP concluded that the adverse effects have not been demonstrably justified, there was no reasonable basis upon which the Minister could come to a different conclusion.

Treaty 8 First Nations (Doig River First Nation, Prophet River First Nation and West Moberly First Nations and McLeod Lake Indian Band)

Four Treaty 8 First Nations filed this application for judicial review on November 5, 2014. However, McLeod Lake Indian Band withdrew from this proceeding in June 2015.

The remaining First Nations seek: (a) an order to set aside the Governor in Council's Justification Decision; and (b) an injunction to prevent the issuance of any federal permits or authorizations or taking any other action to enable Site C to proceed (or an order to quash any such permits or authorizations or actions in the event they are issued or taken).

The application is made on the grounds that Site C cannot be reasonably justified under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) or at common law, as it infringes the First Nations' Treaty 8 rights, or alternatively that Site C cannot be justified in accordance with the principle of the honour of the Crown.

Alberta Treaty 8 First Nations (Mikisew Cree First Nation and Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation)

The Mikisew Cree and the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nations have Treaty 8 lands located in northeastern Alberta. They jointly commenced two applications for judicial review in the Federal Court, but as noted above, they recently withdrew from the Federal Court proceedings and are no longer scheduled to participate in the hearings taking place this week.

In their first claim filed on June 9, 2014, the First Nations initially sought to quash certain sections and recommendations of the JRP's report. In particular, the First Nations opposed the JRP's conclusion that Site C would have negligible effects on the downstream Peace-Athabasca Delta, which is within their traditional lands. They argued that the JRP's methodology was flawed, that the JRP did not observe principles of procedural fairness, and that the JRP came to an unreasonable conclusion based on the evidence before it.

In a separate claim filed on November 12, 2014, the First Nations sought to set aside the Federal Minister of Environment's Decision Statement on the grounds that Canada (a) failed to meet its duty to consult the First Nations, (b) failed to comply with the requirements under CEAA 2012, and (c) improperly and unreasonably relied on the JRP report.


Please see our previous article regarding the treaty rights infringement claim commenced by Blueberry River First Nations (BRFN) against the Province of British Columbia on March 3, 2015. Although BRFN's application for judicial review does not directly refer to BC Hydro or Site C, the claim could still have potential implications for the proposed project, as it is located within the First Nation's traditional territory in the Upper Peace River region of northeastern BC.

The BRFN's claim is one of the first treaty rights infringement claims to be argued primarily on the basis of cumulative impacts on a First Nation's entire traditional territory. BRFN seeks a court declaration that, by causing or permitting such cumulative impacts, the Province has breached its treaty and fiduciary obligations to BRFN, and has infringed on BRFN's treaty rights. BRFN also seeks interim and permanent injunctive relief against any activities that would cause further cumulative effects. If successful, the claim could have significant implications for current and future projects located in BRFN's traditional territory.

In closing, it remains to be seen how the remainder of these challenges to Site C will ultimately be determined. Please refer to our blog for a future update regarding the Federal Court hearings taking place this week.

* Special thanks to Jack Ruttle and Kevan Hanowski for their assistance in preparing this update.

To view original article, please click here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.