Canada: Significant Changes To Investment Canada Act Review Thresholds, Disclosure Requirements And National Security Review Timelines

On March 25, 2015, the federal government published long-awaited regulations as a result of which, effective April 24, 2015, the threshold for determining whether net benefit review under the Investment Canada Act (ICA) is required for WTO private sector investment will be $600 million based on "enterprise value" rather than $369 million in asset book value as is currently the case. The threshold will increase to $800 million in 2017, then to $1 billion in 2019, after which it will be indexed annually. The net benefit review threshold for non-WTO acquisitions, acquisitions involving state-owned enterprises (SOEs) and acquisitions of cultural businesses will continue to be based on asset book value. The review threshold amendments have a long history; for further information refer to our March 12, 2009 Osler Update, June 14, 2012 Osler Update, December 9, 2012 Osler Update and May 2, 2013 Osler Update.

The change from an asset-based threshold to an enterprise value threshold will have a number of important implications for foreign investments in Canada including increased complexity in determining whether a transaction is subject to ICA net benefit review, and a greater potential for the ICA process to provide advantages to certain bidders over others for the same target. In addition, while the government is raising the threshold for foreign investment review, it is not clear that the burden on foreign investors will actually decrease as a result of the changes. Certainly, there will be some transactions that would not be subject to review based on the current threshold of $369 million in book value of assets that will exceed the $600 million enterprise value threshold. It remains to be seen more generally whether, particularly at the $600 million level, more transactions will be subject to ICA review than would have been the case if the current threshold continued to apply.

In addition to changes to the review thresholds, the regulations impose new disclosure requirements which will result in a foreign investor having to provide significantly more information to the federal government regarding the investor, its business activities and shareholders than is currently the case, including in notifications required to be filed for all acquisitions of control of Canadian businesses by non-Canadians that fall below the thresholds for review.

The new regulations also extend the timeline for national security reviews by up to 70 days. This change is effective immediately.

Revised Thresholds for Review

As of April 24, 2015, there will be six different ICA thresholds for review for direct acquisitions of control:

1. Direct acquisition of a publicly-traded entity – $600 million or more in enterprise value, based on the target's market capitalization, plus its total liabilities excluding its operating liabilities, minus its cash and cash equivalents.

  • Market capitalization will be calculated by using the average daily closing price of the target's quoted equity securities on the entity's principal market (i.e., where the greatest volume of trading occurred during the trading period) over the most recent 20 days of trading ending before the first day of the month that immediately precedes the month in which the application for review or notification is filed.
  • If there are unlisted equity securities, the fair market value of such securities, as determined by the board of directors or other person authorized to make that determination, is to be included.
  • Total liabilities, excluding operating liabilities, cash and cash equivalents are determined based on the most recent quarterly financial statements.

2. Direct acquisition of a privately-held entity – $600 million or more in enterprise value, based on the total acquisition value, plus its total liabilities, excluding its operating liabilities, minus its cash and cash equivalents.

  • Where the investor is acquiring 100% of the voting interests, total acquisition value is the total consideration payable. Where the investor is acquiring less than 100% of the voting interests, total acquisition value is the aggregate of the consideration payable by the investor, the consideration payable by any other investors, and the fair market value of any portion of the voting interests that are not being acquired.
  • In circumstances where the parties are non-arm's length, or consideration is nominal or zero, total consideration payable is fair market value.
  • Total liabilities, excluding operating liabilities, cash and cash equivalents are determined based on the most recent quarterly financial statements.

3. Acquisition of assets – $600 million or more in enterprise value, based on the total consideration payable, plus the liabilities that are assumed by the investor (other than operating liabilities), minus the cash and cash equivalents that are transferred to the investor.

  • In circumstances where the parties are non-arm's length, or consideration is nominal or zero, total consideration payable is fair market value.

4. Direct acquisition of a cultural business – book value of assets of the Canadian business is $5 million or more.

5. Direct acquisition by a non-WTO investor of a non-WTO controlled target – book value of assets of the Canadian business is $5 million or more.

6. Direct acquisition by an SOE investor – book value of assets of the Canadian business is $369 million or more (indexed annually).

As is currently the case, direct acquisitions of Canadian businesses where the thresholds are not met, and indirect WTO investments, including by SOEs, are subject to notification only and are not subject to review. Such transactions may still be subject to review on national security grounds. Indirect investments by non-WTO investors in non-WTO controlled targets or indirect acquisitions of cultural businesses by any investor are subject to review where the book value of assets is $50 million or more (or $5 million in certain cases).


The amendments raise several important issues for foreign investors contemplating direct acquisitions of control of Canadian businesses:

  • There will be some transactions that would not be subject to review based on the current threshold of $369 million in book value of assets but will exceed the $600 million enterprise value threshold. It remains to be seen whether, particularly at the $600 million level, more transactions will be subject to review than would have been the case if the current threshold continued to apply.
  • The amendments come into effect April 24, 2015 and so will impact acquisitions of control currently being contemplated. The non-reviewable status can be "crystallized" for a transaction that is not reviewable under the current thresholds but would be reviewable under the new rules by filing a notification prior to April 24.
  • For public bids, there will be a greater element of strategy in deciding when to make an ICA filing. The time period for calculating the average share price used to calculate enterprise value will be determined with reference to the point in time at which an ICA filing is made rather than when the transaction closes. In other words, the amendments permit an investor to file a notification if at that time the enterprise value is below the threshold, thereby "freezing" the non-reviewable status of the transaction for that investor.
  • In some cases, there may be a "first mover / first to file" advantage in an auction scenario. This could have important implications for public company auction scenarios with multiple bidders. The amendments permit the first bidder to file a notification based on enterprise value which is below the threshold (i.e., no ICA review would be required for that bidder), thereby "freezing" the enterprise value of the target but only for purposes of its own bid. Where the announcement of this first bid has the effect of increasing the target's share price, this has the potential to result in an uneven playing field amongst foreign bidders. While the first bidder would not be subject to ICA review, if there is a significant time gap in between bids such that enterprise value has increased as a result of the first offer, the subsequent bidders may be subject to ICA review if the enterprise value threshold is exceeded.
  • While investments by SOEs have for some time been subject to more vigorous review, the new rules will for the first time result in SOE and private sector investment being subject to different thresholds. As a result, it is possible that a private sector investment may trigger a review as a result of the target's enterprise value exceeding the $600 million threshold, while that same investment by a foreign SOE would not trigger a review if the book value of the target's assets is below the $369 million asset value threshold (although the federal government could turn to the national security regime to review the investment if it had concerns).
  • ICA filing implications may now be a factor when determining purchase price for private companies.

More Onerous Disclosure Requirements

The amendments will also significantly increase the disclosure requirements for investors. Among other things, investors will now need to provide detailed information regarding their governance, management and ownership, birth dates and contact details for all individuals identified, and contact details for all entities identified. Investors will also be required to disclose whether an SOE has a direct or indirect ownership interest in the investor and whether the SOE has certain veto rights or rights regarding the appointment of officers and directors or strategic decision-making. These amendments come into force on April 24, 2015.

Extended Timeline for National Security Reviews

Independent of the ICA net benefit review process, the ICA national security regime allows the federal government to review a broad range of foreign investments, including minority investments, on the basis that such investments could be "injurious to national security." The revised regulations extend as of March 25, 2015 the government's maximum review period from 130 days to 200 days (or possibly longer upon the consent of the investor). A statement released with the amendments indicates that the objective is to provide the federal government with the time it needs to conduct a thorough analysis of investments which potentially raise national security concerns.

There are no published criteria for what is "injurious to national security," nor are there publicly-available statistics on enforcement of this aspect of the ICA.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.