Canada: Competition Law And Foreign Investment Review In Canada – Top 10 Issues For 2013

2012 was a busy year in Canada for both competition and foreign investment law. On the competition side, a significant number of new cases were initiated, and there was a change in leadership at the Competition Bureau. Canadian foreign investment law in 2012 was dominated by the review of two significant transactions – CNOOC/Nexen and PETRONAS/Progress Energy – which ultimately resulted in the Canadian government revising its approach to investments by foreign state owned or influenced enterprises in Canada.

Below we consider how some of these important developments in 2012 will shape the enforcement of Canadian competition and foreign investment law in 2013.

1. Will the New Interim Competition Commissioner Stay the Enforcement Course?

In September 2012, the Commissioner of Competition resigned and was replaced on an interim basis by John Pecman, a seasoned Bureau veteran with over 28 years of enforcement experience. While a permanent replacement is expected to be appointed within the year, many have asked whether the Commissioner's departure will result in a different enforcement approach to the one taken during her tenure, which saw a number of high-profile proceedings initiated before the Competition Tribunal and courts. That seems unlikely.

In Mr. Pecman's first speech as Interim Commissioner in October 2012, he stated "the Bureau's priorities were the right ones a few months ago and they will continue to guide us in the months ahead." In a subsequent speech delivered in early December 2012, Mr. Pecman returned to this theme, commenting that the Bureau's "commitment to enforcement runs deep in my veins", and that "the Bureau's recent track record on enforcement mirrors my own as an enforcer at the Bureau." More importantly, as discussed below, Mr. Pecman has commenced two significant enforcement proceedings before the Competition Tribunal during his interim tenure, and has continued a number of enforcement proceedings commenced by his predecessor. Based on these initial indications, companies operating in Canada should not expect any relaxation in the Bureau's enforcement approach in the year ahead.

2. Criminal Offences – Will there be a "Sea Change" in the Prosecution of Cartels?

As former head of the Bureau's Criminal Matters Branch, it is not surprising that prosecuting criminal offences such as cartels and bid-rigging will remain a priority under Mr. Pecman's administration. Taking his cue, in part, from comments about the gravity of cartel conduct made by Chief Justice Crampton of the Federal Court of Canada in a recent sentencing decision, Mr. Pecman expressed his view that there has been a "sea change" in the way that cartel offences and other white-collar crimes are now viewed in Canada. Other developments in 2012 also tend to support this trend. For example, legislation that came into effect in November 2012 has eliminated the availability of some permissive types of "conditional sentences" for persons who have violated the Competition Act's conspiracy and bid-rigging offences (these " conditional sentences" usually consist of house arrest or community service). In addition, the federal government recently tightened its procurement rules, such that companies convicted of conspiracy/bid-rigging and certain other federal offences will be disqualified from bidding on government contracts even if they pleaded guilty and cooperated under the Bureau's leniency program.

If there really is going to be a "sea change" in cartel enforcement in 2013, one area to watch closely will be the level of fines sought and obtained against accused parties. In 2012, a total of approximately CDN$22.2 million in fines was imposed on parties convicted of violating the Competition Act's conspiracy offence. While the magnitude of cartel fines imposed in 2012 was up significantly from 2011 (approximately CDN$295,000) and 2010 (approximately CDN$8 million), the amounts are still modest when compared to cartel fines in other jurisdictions, particularly the United States, where the U.S. Department of Justice obtained US$1.13 billion in criminal antitrust fines in FY 2012.

The other key indicator of a change in approach will be whether the Bureau actively pursues jail sentences for individuals who participate in cartels. Mr. Pecman is on record as favouring prison sentences for individuals in appropriate cases, and has pointed to the supporting comments by Chief Justice Crampton that individuals convicted of cartel offences in Canada should "face a very real prospect of serving time in prison." That said, the Bureau will not have an easy path if it decides to insist on jail sentences for cartel participants; there is a limited track record of individuals serving time in jail in Canada for cartel-related offences, and any shift in this direction is likely to be resisted by defendants. 2013, therefore, could see fewer plea agreements for cartel-related offences and more contested proceedings, including the first defended case under the per se cartel provisions that came into effect in March 2010. This would mark a fundamental shift in the nature of cartel prosecutions in Canada.

3. A New Standard for Misleading Representations?

According to Mr. Pecman, the Bureau will continue to actively pursue misleading advertising cases in 2013, with a particular focus on appropriate disclosure of key terms and pricing in the e-commerce and digital media areas. This should serve as a signal to companies marketing online or in digital media to ensure that their advertising is compliant.

Of course, compliance depends to some degree on the standard that ought to be used when evaluating whether a representation is misleading. In Richard v. Time, a decision released in February 2012, the Supreme Court of Canada held that the appropriate standard for assessing the general impression of representations under the Quebec Consumer Protection Act is from the perspective of a "credulous and inexperienced" consumer. This is quite different from the generally accepted approach under the Competition Act, which was to assess the general impression from the perspective of the average consumer, having regard to the characteristics of the consumer that is targeted by the representation. Since the Time decision, the Competition Bureau has shifted its approach and taken the position in a case before the Ontario Superior Court that the Time standard should apply equally in the competition law context. If the Court agrees with the Commissioner on this issue, this will have important implications for how companies approach their advertising in Canada.

4. Abuse of Dominance – Is More Guidance on the Horizon?

The Bureau issued new (and long-awaited) abuse of dominance enforcement guidelines in September 2012. However, these pared down guidelines arguably had the effect of reducing transparency on many important aspects of abuse of dominance enforcement in Canada, a problem that the Bureau now proposes to address by issuing supplementary FAQs. More guidance on abuse of dominance (and the related area of price maintenance) should also be available from the Competition Tribunal, with decisions expected in the Toronto Real Estate Board (TREB) case regarding rules restricting TREB member brokers from providing consumers with direct access to certain online data from TREB's Multiple Listing Service, and the Bureau's case against Visa and MasterCard in relation to merchant restraints alleged to maintain the price of credit card acceptance fees. The Bureau also brought two new applications under the abuse of dominance provisions at the close of 2012 against each of two suppliers of water heaters in Ontario regarding allegedly restrictive practices designed to prevent customers from switching to competitors. The Bureau is seeking the maximum financial penalties available in those cases (a total of $25 million against the two parties), which underscores the stakes involved when alleged abuses of dominance are at issue.

5. Patents and Competition Law– Will the Bureau Jump into the Fray?

In recent years, the Bureau has shown relatively little enthusiasm, at least publicly, for enforcement action in relation to the potential anti-competitive use of patents – an area that has generated significant debate and scrutiny amongst antitrust regulators in other countries. That said, an abuse of dominance investigation involving a pharmaceutical company that has recently become public appears to be based on concerns of patent leverage. Based on public documents, the Bureau has also asked the target to produce copies of settlement agreements it has entered into regarding patent litigation.

6. Continued Merger Scrutiny

In May 2012, the Competition Tribunal issued its first decision in a fully contested merger case in over a decade, ordering CCS Corporation to divest its interest in an acquired company that owned a landfill site in British Columbia. While the Competition Tribunal agreed with the Commissioner's basis for challenging the transaction, it refused to order dissolution of the merger (as had been requested by the Commissioner) but required the parties to divest the assets at issue, allowing the vendors in that case to breathe a momentary sigh of relief – atleast until the appeal of the Tribunal's decision is resolved. Regardless of how this issue is dealt with on appeal, the other main lesson from the CCS case is that the Competition Bureau intends to closely review and challenge even relatively small and non-notifiable transactions, including circumstances where the parties have never previously competed, if it believes that they may substantially lessen or prevent competition.

7. Joint Ventures and Alliances – Lessons from the Airline Industry

In October 2012, the Bureau entered into a Consent Agreement with Air Canada and United Continental that precluded the airlines from coordinating on certain matters on 14 transborder routes. Interestingly, the Bureau challenged existing agreements between the parties under both section 90.1 of the Act, the relatively new civil provision governing agreements between competitors, and the merger provisions in section 92 of the Act. Section 90.1, unlike the Competition Act's merger provisions, has no limitation period, allowing the Bureau to challenge agreements that had been in place for many years and raising the prospect of long-term scrutiny of joint ventures and alliances that may be functionally similar to mergers. With the settlement of the Air Canada/United Continental transaction, the Bureau may be on the lookout for a new joint venture case to test the scope of section 90.1.

8. Regulated Conduct Redux?

In recent comments, Mr. Pecman and other Bureau officials have expressed a renewed interest in competition in regulated sectors in Canada. This was a priority under former Commissioner Sheridan Scott, who, among other things, issued a study in 2007 on self-regulated professions in Canada and devoted considerable resources to educating legislators and regulators on the benefits of competition. It seems that the Bureau now intends to pick up, at least to some degree, the advocacy role that lay largely dormant during the last Commissioner's tenure.

9. Spotlight on Trade Associations

In a similar vein, the Bureau has gone out of its way recently to highlight competition issues raised by trade association activities, such as information exchanges and restrictions on the types of services members can offer. Reports also indicate that the Bureau is currently investigating the role of a trade association in facilitating alleged price-fixing in the construction of concrete foundations for residential homes in the Toronto area. The upshot is that trade and professional associations should brace themselves for a heightened level of scrutiny in 2013.

10. Foreign Investment Review –What's in Store for SOEs?

In December 2012, the Canadian government cleared two important acquisitions by foreign state owned enterprises ("SOEs") – CNOOC/Nexen and PETRONAS/Progress Energy – and issued a new framework for reviewing foreign SOE acquisitions in Canada going forward. Although helpful in some respects, the new framework also raises fresh questions about the Investment Canada Act review process, some as fundamental as when does an entity qualify as an "SOE" in the first place. 2013 is likely to see the Canadian government continue to grapple with these tricky issues as relevant implementing measures are developed. In the meantime, foreign state-owned, controlled or "influenced" investors will need to be mindful of the federal government's new framework and the requirement to satisfy the government on issues such as transparency, governance and commercial orientation.

The flip side of the government's concern about SOE investments in Canada is its commitment to reduce the burden of foreign investment review for private sector investors. Most specifically, 2013 may finally see implementation of the federal government's plan to introduce a new "enterprise value" threshold for triggering the "net benefit" review process under the Investment Canada Act. Once the necessary regulations are issued, the "enterprise value" threshold will increase from $600 million to $1 billion over four years, as compared to the $344 million threshold (based on the book value of the acquired business' assets) that is currently applicable to most foreign investments made outside of the cultural sector. Significantly, SOEs will continue to be subject to a lower asset threshold. Separate review thresholds for private sector and SOE investors will require legislative measures that may be the subject of consultation.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Mark C. Katz
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.