Canada: Investment Canada And Competition Law - 2012 In Review And Outlook For 2013

Last Updated: February 10 2013
Article by Sandy Walker



The Investment Canada foreign investment regime was in the spotlight for much of 2012. Two high-profile and controversial takeovers of Canadian companies were reviewed and approved under the Investment Canada Act, Canada's foreign investment review legislation: the acquisition of oil and gas company Nexen by Chinese state-owned enterprise (SOE), CNOOC, and the acquisition of natural gas producer Progress Energy by Malaysian SOE, Petronas. At the same time, Canada announced a new and more stringent policy framework for the review of SOE investments in Canada. The new policy reflects the Government's limited tolerance for significant foreign government ownership in the Canadian economy.

CNOOC and Petronas Transactions Approved

The CNOOC deal was the subject of debate between those in favour of liberal investment rules, on the one hand, and on the other, opponents of foreign government "nationalization" of the oil sands and advocates of greater reciprocity – i.e., conditioning approval on greater market access of Canadian companies in China. The result was a delicate balancing act for Prime Minister Harper who had to address concerns of opponents while not undermining the significant progress in the Canada-China relationship achieved over the past three years.

For its part, CNOOC communicated early on and publicly its willingness to make significant commitments, including: establishing Calgary as CNOOC's North and Central American headquarters; retaining Nexen's current management team and employees; enhancing capital expenditures on Nexen's assets; and listing CNOOC Limited shares on the TSX. As these commitments were offered at the beginning of the process, all of the final commitments made by CNOOC are not publicly available.

The Petronas transaction, while not attracting much public opposition, hit a major snag during the review process when Industry Minister initially rejected the deal, but Petronas was able to overturn that result, presumably by making additional concessions to address government concerns. As with the CNOOC transaction, the Petronas undertakings have not been made public.

SOEs under Scrutiny - Prohibition of SOE Takeovers in the Oil Sands

While announcing the approval of the CNOOC and Petronas deals, the Canadian government also banned further acquisitions of control of Canadian oil sands businesses except on an "exceptional" basis. In addition, the SOE guidelines have been revised to intensify scrutiny of SOE investments, especially in sectors where SOE influence in a particular industry is deemed significant.

To gain approval, SOEs will have to be more transparent, constrain state influence and operate according to free market principles. Moreover, the definition of SOEs has been broadened to include companies that are "influenced" by foreign governments not just those that are controlled or owned by foreign governments. This could potentially mean a much broader range of investors would be categorized as SOEs, depending on how the government views "influence".

SOE investments will also be subject to review and ministerial approval at a lower level than other foreign investments. While the review threshold for non-SOE investors is set to increase to $600 million in "enterprise value" upon issuance of an implementing regulation ($1 billion within four years), for SOEs it will remain at the current level subject to indexation (a target book value of assets of $344 million in 2013).

The vague scope of the SOE definition may cause uncertainty relating to the applicability of the guidelines and of the lower review threshold for SOEs. It is also anticipated that SOEs may increasingly invest through joint venture arrangements in order to minimize Investment Canada challenges.


2012 was a year of active enforcement for Canada's competition enforcement agency, the Competition Bureau (the "Bureau"). A number of significant mergers were approved, in some cases in reliance upon remedies sought by other authorities, and there were important developments in enforcement action against cartels and anti-competitive practices. 2013 will also see a number of decisions in ongoing cases.


The Bureau approved a number of significant mergers in 2012.


After a lengthy review, the takeover by Maple Group of Canada's biggest stock exchange operator, including TMX Group, Alpha Group and Canadian Depository Services, was allowed. While the Bureau initially had serious concerns, these were mitigated by the issuance by the Ontario Securities Commission of final recognition orders which altered the regulatory environment significantly.

United Technology/Goodrich

Another notable merger approved by the Bureau was United Technology Corporation's proposed acquisition of Goodrich Corporation. Both companies are engaged in the global aerospace industry, supplying various parts and components to aircraft manufacturers. The Bureau worked with the U.S. Department of Justice's Antitrust Division and the European Commission in reviewing the international merger and concluded that remedial orders issued by U.S. and Europe antitrust authorities sufficiently mitigated these potential anti-competitive effects.


Another high profile international merger was Glencore International PLC's ("Glencore") acquisition of Canadian company Viterra Inc. ("Viterra"). Glencore, a Swiss commodities producer and trader with worldwide activities, received clearance from the Commissioner of Competition (the "Commissioner") in the form of a "no action letter" in May 2012. As part of the proposed transaction, Glencore struck side deals pursuant to which Winnipeg-based Richardson International Ltd. ("Richardson') would purchase a portion of former Viterra grain handling operations from Glencore, and Calgary-based Agrium Inc. would acquire the majority of Viterra's retail business.

Air Canada/United Continental

The Commissioner also reached an agreement with Air Canada and United Continental Holdings, Inc. ("United Continental") regarding the proposed joint venture between these two airlines as well as existing coordination agreements. The Commissioner had alleged in its application with the Competition Tribunal that: (1) the proposed joint venture would result in the reduction of passenger service competition between Air Canada and United Continental for 19 transborder (Canada/US) routes; and (2) the existing agreements between Air Canada and United Continental would reinforce the potential anti-competitive effects of the proposed joint venture by allowing the parties to coordinate price, inventory, marketing and scheduling across their networks, share net revenues, and provide reciprocal access to each of their respective frequent flyer programs. This was the first time that the Commissioner brought an application before the Competition Tribunal under the Competition Act's new civil provision (section 90.1) directed at agreements between competitors. Under the terms of the consent agreement, Air Canada and United Continental have agreed not to implement their joint venture or to coordinate through their coordination agreements on 14 of the 19 air passenger routes between Canada and the U.S.

CCS/Complete Environmental

In May 2012, the Competition Tribunal ruled in favour of the Commissioner in her challenge of the completed acquisition by CCS Corporation ("CCS") of Complete Environmental Inc. ("Complete"). The Tribunal found that the merger would likely prevent competition substantially in the market for the supply of landfill services for solid hazardous oil and gas waste and ordered CCS to divest itself of Complete's hazardous waste landfill site, on the basis that it would likely have become a competitor to CCS had the acquisition not been completed.

The outcome of this case is significant as the theory of harm was founded on a likely "prevention" of competition. Furthermore, the transaction was closed at the time the Commissioner had filed an application to the Competition Tribunal, and the value of the transaction was far below the merger notification threshold.

The parties have appealed the Tribunal's decision and the Federal Court of Appeal granted a stay of the divestiture orders conditional on the preservation of the hazardous waste site. The final determination of the appeal has not yet been made.


The Bureau continued to actively pursue domestic cartel activity as well as bid-rigging in the construction industry. Additional fines have also been imposed in relation to the retail gasoline price fixing conspiracy in Quebec, in which guilty charges have, to date, resulted in the imposition of fines totaling over $3 million and prison sentences totaling 54 months.

In January 2012, the Bureau obtained its first conviction under Canada's amended conspiracy law by obtaining a guilty plea from two companies involved in a price-fixing cartel for polyurethane foam. This guilty plea was the first conviction under Canada's amended conspiracy law and a fine of $12.5 million was imposed on the involved parties.



The hearing of the challenge by the Commissioner of Visa and MasterCard's so-called "merchant restrictions" (including the "no-surcharge" and "honor all cards" rules) under the price maintenance provision of the Competition Act took place in May and June. The Commissioner first filed an application with the Competition Tribunal in December 2010, alleging that the rules that Visa and MasterCard were imposing on merchants who accept their credit cards effectively eliminated competition between Visa and MasterCard, and led to increased costs to businesses and consumers. The Competition Tribunal has not yet issued a decision but it will be closely watched given the starkly different interpretations of the price maintenance provision presented by the parties at the Tribunal proceeding. The pending decision on this case will be significant as it is the first civil price maintenance case to be heard by the Competition Tribunal following amendments to the Competition Act in 2009 which repealed the former criminal price maintenance offence.

Fairview Donut

An Ontario court dismissed claims asserted by franchisees against a franchisor under the price maintenance provision of the Competition Act, alleging that the prices at which the franchisor was selling its ingredients to the franchisees were too high. The court concluded that the price maintenance rule does not apply to prohibit a supplier from increasing its price to a reseller who is free to sell the product at whatever price it chooses. The franchisees appealed this decision, albeit not on the grounds that there was contravention of the Competition Act, but the appeal was dismissed.


Following the Commissioner's abuse of dominance case against the Canadian Real Estate Association in 2010 (which was settled), the hearing of the Commissioner's challenge of the conduct of another real estate organization, the Toronto Real Estate Board ("TREB"), took place in September 2012. The Commissioner had filed an application with the Competition Tribunal in May 2011, alleging that TREB was abusing its dominant position in the supply of residential real estate brokerage services in the Greater Toronto Area by implementing allegedly restrictive rules and policies respecting brokers' use of its Multiple Listing Service.


Merger Review Process Guidelines

The Bureau published revised Merger Review Process Guidelines in January 2012 (the "MRP Guidelines"). The MRP Guidelines have been updated to reflect current Bureau practices with respect to the supplementary information request ("SIR") issuance process. The MRP Guidelines also clarify how timing agreements may be used to address to obtain additional information or address timing concerns (including in a hostile transaction context).

Abuse of Dominance Guidelines

The Bureau has issued updated Enforcement Guidelines on the Abuse of Dominance Provisions (the "Abuse Guidelines"). These guidelines have been roundly criticized for being considerably less detailed and therefore less helpful in providing guidance than predecessor versions of the guidelines. They are also notable for stating that certain acts not specifically directed at competitors could still be considered to have an anti-competitive purpose. This interpretation potentially expands the scope for finding that a dominant firm's conduct constitutes an abuse of dominance.

Draft Interpretation Guidelines

In 2012 the Bureau released a number of draft interpretation guidelines for consultation regarding pre-merger notification. None of these has yet been finalized.

Increase in Merger Notification Thresholds

On January 8, 2013, the Bureau announced an increase in the "size of transaction" monetary threshold for pre-merger notification for 2013, from $77 million Canadian to $80 million Canadian. If the Canadian assets of a business involved in a transaction exceed $80 million, and the assets in Canada or gross revenues from sales in, from or into Canada of the parties and their affiliates exceed $400 million, the parties to the transaction must notify the Bureau of the transaction before closing.

About Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP (FMC)

FMC is one of Canada's leading business and litigation law firms with more than 500 lawyers in six full-service offices located in the country's key business centres. We focus on providing outstanding service and value to our clients, and we strive to excel as a workplace of choice for our people. Regardless of where you choose to do business in Canada, our strong team of professionals possess knowledge and expertise on regional, national and cross-border matters. FMC's well-earned reputation for consistently delivering the highest quality legal services and counsel to our clients is complemented by an ongoing commitment to diversity and inclusion to broaden our insight and perspective on our clients' needs. Visit:

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
25 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

On Thursday, September 22, 2016, Dentons hosted a panel discussion about the management of liabilities and risks associated with environmental crises, including potential liabilities for directors and officers and provided insight into risk and liability techniques associated with environmental crisis management.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.