Canada: Investment Canada Update: Changes To Foreign Investment Review Threshold And New Mediation Guidelines

On May 25, 2012, the Minister of Industry announced significant changes to the Canadian federal government's review and enforcement process under the Investment Canada Act (the ICA). These changes include:

  • Proposed amendments to the Investment Canada Regulations (the Regulations) that will change, over a four-year period, the financial threshold for review under the ICA from C$330-million in asset value to C$1-billion in enterprise value;
  • Issuance of Mediation Guidelines that make formal mediation procedures available under the ICA as an alternative means of voluntarily resolving disputes when the Minister believes a non-Canadian investor has failed to comply with an undertaking given in connection with an investment; and
  • Publication of an annual report by Industry Canada on the administration of the ICA.

This announcement follows the government's introduction last month of proposed amendments to the ICA that would, among other things, allow the responsible Minister to release reasons for provisional decisions made under the "net benefit" test for reviewable transactions. (See our Blakes Bulletin: Amendments to Investment Canada Act Designed to Boost Transparency and Compliance). Collectively, these changes reflect a shift towards greater transparency and more effective enforcement under the ICA.

New Financial Threshold for Review

The proposed amendments to the Regulations are necessary to bring into force amendments to the ICA that were passed in 2009, which would raise the financial threshold for review. (See our Blakes Bulletin: Significant Amendments to Canada's Competition Act and Investment Canada Act Now in Force). Once the Regulations are in force, the investment review threshold will immediately change from C$330-million in asset value to C$600-million in enterprise value for two years, then to C$800-million in enterprise value for two years, then to C$1-billion in enterprise value, and subsequently the threshold will be indexed to changes in Canada's GDP. The current asset-based financial thresholds will still apply for investments in cultural businesses and for investments by investors from non-WTO member countries. There is no minimum financial threshold for reviews of transactions that raise national security concerns.

The current C$330-million threshold is based on the value of the acquired assets according to the target's financial statements or book value. According to the government, the new basis for the financial threshold – enterprise value – will better reflect the value of a business as a going concern particularly with respect to service and knowledge-based industries. Depending on how enterprise value will be calculated under the new regulations, certain classes of transactions that would not have been reviewable under the old, numerically lower financial threshold may be reviewable under the new, numerically higher threshold. For example, IT and service firms (which tend to have lower asset values but higher enterprise values) may more easily trigger thresholds based on enterprise value than thresholds based on asset value. The methodology for calculating enterprise value will be set out in draft regulations, which will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, for a 30-day public consultation period to provide stakeholders with an opportunity to provide comments before the new financial threshold is actually implemented. (A method for calculating enterprise value was first laid out in draft regulations pre-published in 2009 but did not come into force.) It is anticipated that the new financial threshold will be implemented in the near future after the publication of the draft regulations and public consultation period.

New Mediation Guidelines

The Minister has issued Mediation Guidelines which establish an alternative to litigation where the Minister believes that an investor has failed to comply with an undertaking in connection with an approved investment. The publication of the Mediation Guidelines follows the December 2011 settlement of the case, United States Steel Corporation v. Canada (Attorney General). (See our Blakes Bulletin: Foreign Investment in Canada: Lessons from the U.S. Steel Case.)

The existing steps that can be taken by the Minister where he believes that a non-Canadian investor has failed to comply with an undertaking in connection with an approved investment include: a) engage in discussions with the investor to resolve concerns related to implementation of the undertakings; b) accept new undertakings; or c) issue a demand letter requiring the investor to comply or justify non-compliance and, if the investor fails to comply, initiate court proceedings. The Mediation Guidelines provide a new option if both the Minister and the investor agree to exercise it: voluntary mediation. In particular, an investor and the Minister may enter into a mediation agreement, which would include provisions dealing with, for example, the appointment of a mediator, confidentiality, the duration and termination of the mediation process, and cost sharing. The introduction of this mediation process increases the available alternatives for resolution, thereby potentially cutting down on the time and costs associated with resolving such disputes. The Mediation Guidelines also preserve the Minister's ability to accept new undertakings proposed by the foreign investor outside of the formal mediation process.

Publication of Annual Report

On May 25, 2012, Industry Canada published its first annual report on the administration of the ICA since 1992-1993 and announced that it will be reporting annually in the future. (The report relates only to investments in non-cultural Canadian businesses, as responsibility for the review of foreign investment proposals in cultural businesses resides with the Minister of Canadian Heritage.) The report, which covers the 2009-2010 fiscal year (which is from April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2010), provides an overview of:

  • The ICA and its administration, including the process followed by the Minister and departmental officials in the conduct of its reviews and the monitoring and enforcement of investments reviewed under the ICA;
  • Significant policy developments, including, for example, the amendments to the ICA that were passed in 2009 (see our Blakes Bulletin: Significant Amendments to Canada's Competition Act and Investment Canada Act Now in Force);
  • Investment activity subject to the ICA in the 2009-2010 period, as well as the preceding decade, including details regarding, for example, the number of applications for review received under the ICA during that period (23), the number of notifications received under the ICA during that period (414), country of origin information; and
  • Enforcement proceedings in the 2009-2010 period, namely the case brought by the Minister against U.S. Steel.

Significantly, the report acknowledges the need to protect confidential information about specific investments. The report does not address individual transactions; rather, it presents information on a generic and aggregated basis, with the only exception being the public enforcement proceedings initiated against U.S. Steel. The report explains that where it is not possible to report on certain data for the 2009-2010 year alone without potentially compromising confidentiality, the report aggregates information over a five-year period. Similarly, to protect the identity of investors, the report's general practice is not to report on data involving fewer than four observations if doing so could compromise the protection of confidential investor information. Provided that the annual reports continue to closely protect confidential investor information, investors are likely to welcome the additional background information and transparency provided by these reports.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
27 Oct 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Please join members of the Blakes Commercial Real Estate group as they discuss five key provisions of a commercial real estate purchase agreement that are often the subject of much negotiation but are sometimes misunderstood.

1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.