Canada: 2010: The Year in Review - Recent Developments in Pension Law

Last Updated: December 20 2010
Article by Michelle S. Henry and Sharon Silbert

Most Read Contributor in Canada, September 2016

The past year has been a busy one for courts and legislators considering pension law in Canada. Significant reforms to pension legislation have taken place in various jurisdictions, and there have also been a number of important developments in the case law.


As a result of the recent changes to Canadian pension law, many Canadian pension plans will need to have their plan texts reviewed and amended, including plans with members in "included employment" subject to federal pension legislation, plans with members in Ontario, and plans with members in Manitoba.

Certain plans will also need to review their statements of investment policies and procedures to take into account the recent changes to the federal pension investment rules, discussed below.


The following is a brief look back at some of the developments that have taken place in 2010.

Changes to Ontario Legislation

In 2010, Bill 236 (Pension Benefits Amendments Act, 2010) and Bill 120 (Securing Pension Benefits Now and for the Future Act, 2010) both received Royal Assent. Each of these bills amends the Ontario Pension Benefits Act (PBA). Some of the amendments are now in force, although most will not take effect until a date yet to be named by proclamation, and many will require regulations to implement.

Among the most notable changes that will be brought about by Bill 236 are:

  • immediate vesting for all service;
  • entitlement to grow-in benefits for all involuntary "without cause" terminations of plan members who have 55 age plus service points; and
  • the elimination of partial wind-ups.

Bill 236 also relaxes the threshold for the commutation and unlocking of small benefits, changes member notice requirements, and creates new Pension Advisory Committee rules. In addition, Bill 236 will make phased retirement available in Ontario.

The most significant changes resulting from the passage of Bill 120 include:

  • changes to the funding rules for DB plans;
  • changes to the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF);
  • new provisions relating to surplus withdrawals;
  • new provisions to permit the creation of target benefit plans; and
  • changes granting new powers to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO).

Changes to Federal Legislation

Bill C-9

Bill C-9 (Jobs and Economic Growth Act) resulted in various amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA). A number of the changes are currently in effect, while others will come into force on a date or dates to be fixed by proclamation. The key amendments include:

  • the inability of employers to declare a plan partially terminated;
  • immediate vesting for all service upon enrolment;
  • the ability to negotiate workout agreements for distressed pension plans; and
  • enhanced disclosure obligations for plan administrators.

In addition, Bill C-9 provides that plan administrators must obtain the Superintendent's consent to commuted value transfers where the transfer would, in the Superintendent's view, impair the solvency of the pension fund. The Superintendent may also designate an actuary to prepare an actuarial report for a plan where the Superintendent believes it to be in the best interests of the members and former members of the plan.

Bill C-9 also amends the PBSA to include an express provision permitting multi-employer pension plan administrators to amend the plan or funding agreement to reduce accrued benefits notwithstanding the plan terms, but subject to the Superintendent's approval.

Additional amendments include the ability to use letters of credit to satisfy solvency funding obligations, full funding on plan wind-up, and the ability to provide variable benefits to members of defined contribution plans.

Bill C-47

Bill C-47 (Sustaining Canada's Economic Recovery Act) received Royal Assent on December 15, 2010. Part 9 of Bill C-47 amends the PBSA to do a number of things, including:

  • authorize the Minister of Finance to enter into an agreement with the provinces in respect of multi-jurisdictional pension plans;
  • authorize the Minister of Finance to designate an entity to receive, hold and disburse pension benefit credits of persons who cannot be located;
  • permit information provided by plan administrators to members or the Superintendent to be provided in electronic form;
  • provide rules regarding "negotiated contribution" plans; and
  • require spousal consent for transfers of pension benefit credits to retirement savings plans.

In addition, Bill C-47 provides for the establishment of a limited "safe harbour" for defined contribution plans by specifying that if a plan administrator provides members with investment choices with "varying degrees of risk" and expected investment returns that would allow a "reasonable and prudent person to create a portfolio of investments that is well adapted to their retirement needs", and if in doing so the administrator complies with the regulations, the administrator is deemed to have complied with s. 8(4.1) of the PBSA, which establishes the standard of care for investing the assets of a pension fund.

Changes to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985

On July 1, 2010, a number of amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) came into force. The amendments set out the new funding requirements for DB plans, and changed the federal pension investment rules to remove quantitative limits on investments in real and resource properties. The change to the investment rules will not only affect federally-regulated private pension plans; it will also affect pension plans governed by provincial legislation that has adopted the federal investment rules as amended from time to time (e.g. British Columbia and Alberta). Plan administrators that are affected by this change should review their plans' statements of investment policies and procedures to determine whether amendments would be appropriate to reflect the change.

Changes in Other Jurisdictions

Other jurisdictions have also experienced changes to their pension legislation in 2010. Most notable among them are Manitoba, where a number of significant amendments have taken place, and Prince Edward Island, where brand new pension legislation was recently introduced. There have also been minor changes to pension laws in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, British Columbia, and Alberta in the past year.

Key Changes to the Income Tax Act

Other important developments in 2010 include proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act (Canada), including the following:

Employee Life and Health Trust (ELHT): This is a trust that provides non-pension employee benefits, such as medical and dental. The ELHT rules codify some current Canada Revenue Agency practices for Health and Welfare Trusts but also include some significant differences. The ELHT rules include specific provisions regarding the timing of the deduction of employer contributions and restrict participation by "key" employees (high income earners and significant shareholders). The new rules apply to trusts established after 2009.

Non-Resident Trust (NRT) Rules: The previously proposed version of these rules was of concern to the pension community because it had potentially draconian consequences for a registered pension plan investing in certain NRTs (the pension plan could have been jointly and severally liable for the Canadian income tax of a NRT deemed to be resident in Canada). The revised version of the NRT rules, released in August 2010, addresses this concern by providing an exemption for registered pension plans and most intermediaries through which they invest.

November 2010 Proposed Technical Amendments: Included in the technical amendments were a number of changes relevant to registered pension plans, including relieving amendments relating to:

  • repayments of pension benefits paid in error; and
  • contributions to a registered pension plan by a purchaser of a business to fund benefits in respect of former employees of the vendor.

Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA): Certain anti-avoidance rules are being put in place to address what the Government perceives to be abusive practices with respect to TFSAs.


Hydro One Inc. v. Ontario (Financial Services Commission) – Threshold for Ordering a Partial Wind-Up

In January 2010, the Ontario Court of Appeal released a decision in Hydro One Inc. v. Ontario (Financial Services Commission) in which it considered the threshold for when the Superintendent of Financial Services (the Superintendent) may order a partial wind-up of a pension plan under paragraph 69(1)(d) of the PBA. That provision permits such an order if "a significant number of members of the pension plan" cease to be employed as a result of the discontinuance of all or part of the business or as a result of a reorganization. Prior to this decision, "significance" was assessed by either considering the number of terminated plan members in comparison with the total number of active plan members prior to the business change, or by considering the absolute number of terminated plan members. In Hydro One, the Court of Appeal held that "significance" may also be assessed by considering the relative size of the number of terminated employees in a defined subset of plan members in relation to the total number of members in that subset. This decision expands the potential ambit of the partial wind-up concept. However, the decision will be overtaken when Bill 236 comes into force, as the Superintendent's power to order a partial wind-up will be limited to situations in which "all or substantially all" of the members of the pension plan or "all or substantially all" of the business or assets of the employer are affected by a business reorganization.

Re Indalex – "Deemed Trust" Under the PBA

The decision of Re Indalex, decided by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) in February 2010, considered the concept of the "deemed trust" under the PBA in the context of proceedings under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (Canada) (CCAA). Indalex obtained protection from its creditors under the CCAA, and an court order was issued approving the sale of its assets. Two member groups asserted deemed trust claims over the sale proceeds in respect of pension deficits. However, the Court held that the deemed trust under the PBA does not arise in respect of the solvency deficiency of a continuing pension plan or in respect of special payments in a plan wind-up which are not due and payable at the relevant time. An appeal of this decision was heard in late November, and a decision is expected sometime in the new year.

Lomas v. Rio Algom Limited – Employees Cannot Force Wind-Up

In March 2010, the Ontario Court of Appeal released its decision in the case of Lomas v. Rio Algom Limited, which held that pension plan members cannot obtain a court order requiring the employer to wind up a pension plan. According to the court, allowing members to force a wind up would be contrary to the societal purposes for which pension plans exist and contrary to the language of most pension plans themselves. More importantly, the Court also noted that the type of order sought by the applicant would conflict with the legislative scheme of the PBA, which only contemplates wind-up proceedings being commenced by the employer or the Superintendent. The Court's decision is favourable for employers, because it emphasizes that employees do not have a right to initiate the wind up of a pension plan on their own. However, plan members who feel a plan should be wound up are not without recourse, as they may request that the Superintendent initiate wind up proceedings.

Burke v. Hudson's Bay Co. – Transfer of Surplus Not Necessary on Sale of Division of Company

In October 2010, the Supreme Court of Canada in Burke v. Hudson's Bay Co. confirmed that a proportionate share of pension surplus in a defined benefit (DB) plan need not necessarily be transferred to a successor plan established for transferred employees on the sale of a division of a company. The Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) provided a contributory DB plan for its employees from 1961. When HBC sold its Northern Stores Division in 1987, the sale resulted in approximately 1,200 employees being transferred from HBC to the purchaser. As part of the transaction, the purchaser agreed to establish a new pension plan for the employees who were transferred, and HBC transferred assets sufficient to cover the defined benefits of the transferred employees. However, HBC did not transfer a share of the HBC pension plan surplus to the new plan. The transferred plan members claimed, among other things, that HBC should have transferred a pro rata share of the surplus. The Supreme Court noted that the threshold question was whether the employees in question had an entitlement to the surplus funds, and the applicable plan documents in this case did not entitle employees to the plan surplus. Since the employees were not entitled to the surplus, it was properly maintained in the original plan. The Court also held that there was no statutory or common law obligation preventing HBC from paying administrative expenses from the pension fund.

About BLG

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.