Australia: Allocation Of Medical Assessors Not Subject To Judicial Review

Last Updated: 6 September 2009
Article by Cherilyn Ribbons

Judgment date: 3 September 2009

Goodman v The Motor Accidents Authority of New South Wales & Anor (2009) NSWSC 875

Supreme Court of New South Wales1

In Brief

The power of the Motor Accidents Authority (MAA) to allocate independent medical assessors in accordance with s 60(2) of the Motor Accidents Compensation Act (MAC Act) is not reviewable.


The plaintiff sought judicial review, pursuant to s 69 of The Supreme Court Act 1970, of the allocation of a particular Medical Assessor by the MAA.

The grounds of the application were that the plaintiff had been denied natural justice. The plaintiff argued, and was entitled to a legitimate expectation, that a particular Medical Assessor would be appointed to conduct any Further Assessments of whole person impairment.


The plaintiff sustained injury when he fell from the rear of a motor vehicle at Parramatta Park on 26 June 2004. The plaintiff was 9 years old at the time of the accident.

Medical Assessment

The plaintiff sustained an injury to head and sought an assessment of permanent impairment by the Medical Assessment Service (MAS).

The allocated Medical Assessor assessed the plaintiff's injuries as exceeding the 10% whole person impairment threshold thereby entitling the plaintiff, in accordance with s 131 of the MAC Act, to an award of non-economic loss.

Further Assessment

The insurer lodged an application seeking a Further Assessment.

The insurer relied on additional information as the purpose for seeking the Further Assessment.

On review of the second defendant's application, the MAA referred the matter for Further Assessment on 17 June 2008.

Allocation of Medical Assessor

A different Medical Assessor was allocated to conduct the assessment.

MAA's power to allocate an assessment to a Medical Assessor lies in s 60(2) of the MAC Act.

The plaintiff objected to the allocation of a different Medical Assessor on the basis that MAA had not provided the plaintiff with the reasons behind the allocation and, in particular, why the dispute was allocated to a different Medical Assessor.

MAA's response explained that the original Medical Assessor was not available within a reasonable timeframe.

On 5 August 2008, and on the advice of his solicitors, the plaintiff did not attend the appointment with the Medical Assessor allocated to conduct the Further Assessment.

Raising of Complaint

Under cover of letter of 5 August 2008, the plaintiff's solicitor advised the MAA the firm had lodged a complaint with respect to the second Medical Assessor and it would therefore be inappropriate for the plaintiff to attend upon that assessor.

The plaintiff did not provide details of the nature of the complaint against the second assessor nor did the plaintiff's solicitor advise whether the complaint was of a serious and substantial nature.

The plaintiff did not provide, in accordance with 11.14A of the MAS Assessment Guidelines (MAG), a detailed statement of factual matters or reasons why the Medical Assessor might be unsuitable, and the objection was 'out of time'.

On 15 August 2008, the MAA notified the parties that new appointments had been made. The appointment made was with the Medical Assessor who conducted the original assessment. The insurer objected and the MAA revoked the allocation, this time allocating the dispute to a third Medical Assessor.

Alleged Failure to Advise

The plaintiff was not provided with a copy of the insurer's letter objecting to the allocation of the original Medical Assessor.

Again, the plaintiff failed to attend the appointment with the newly appointed Medical Assessor on 3 October 2008 and an assessment was conducted on the papers. The assessment finding was one of "not stable" and therefore whole person impairment could not be determined.

The plaintiff sought orders quashing the certificates, a declaration that they were invalid and a referral back to the original decision maker, the MAA (not the original Medical Assessor) to conduct a Further Assessment.


Legitimate Expectation

Justice Hoeben stated that he could see no denial of legitimate expectation in the process of reallocating the Further Assessment to a different Medical Assessor. Section 60(2) merely enables MAA to allocate an Assessor.

It does not create any right or expectation conferring a benefit on any party. Underpinning the provision is the notion that the Assessor will be independent, and not subject to any qualitative description such as "good" or "bad" or able to confer a benefit or withdraw a benefit.

Section 60(2) provides: "The Authority is to arrange for the dispute to be referred to one or more medical assessors".

Denial of Natural Justice

The Court ruled that MAA's failure to inform the plaintiff of the change in Medical Assessor did not result in any denial of natural justice.

The Court rejected the plaintiff's submission that it would have made submissions to the MAA as to the expediency of having the initial Medical Assessor conduct the Further Assessment were without legal basis.

The Court did not agree that the MAA's failure to inform the plaintiff was analogous to the facts of Kioa v West2, which relevantly states:

"When an order is to be made which will deprive a person of some right or interest of a legitimate expectation of a benefit, he is entitled to know the case sought to be made against him and to be given an opportunity of replying to it."

The Court ruled that the facts and findings of Kioa v West were not relevant as the decision making involved in s 60(2) involves no more than the taking of an administrative step to enable a final decision to be made by another entity at a later point in time.

The case at hand was also distinguished from Campbelltown City Council v Vegan3, where a final medical certificate issued by a workers compensation assessor was subject to judicial review, because it was a final certificate, as distinct from an intermediate administrative step.

An allocation conducted by the MAA, pursuant to s 60(2) of the MAC Act, is an interim step conducted by MAA and cannot be the subject of judicial review.


This case confirms that the allocation of Medical Assessors is not subject to judicial review as the allocation involves an interim step in the process of assessing whole person impairment.

While an error in the certificate of a Medical Assessor remains subject to judicial review for the categories of cases identified and subjected to administrative legal remedy, allocation of a Medical Assessor remains firmly a non-reviewable decision.

The case does not categorically deny that the decisions by the MAA that allegedly breach either natural justice or legitimate expectations are not reviewable, but merely that the allegation needs to satisfy the common law requirements for raising such an allegation.


1 Hoeben J

2 (1985) 159 CLR 550

3 [2006] NSWCA 284 (at 106)

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.