Australia: The Future Of The ABCC And The Wilcox Review

The establishment of the Australian Building and Construction Commissioner (ABCC) followed a recommendation of the Cole Royal Commission into the building and construction industry, which commenced in August 2001 and reported in February 2003.

It found there was widespread lawlessness and corruption in the industry, and that threatening and intimidating behaviour was commonplace. The ABCC was set up to ensure that workplace relations in the industry were lawful and was invested with far reaching powers to enforce this objective. Supporters of the ABCC claim that it has resulted in a boost to industry productivity of at least 10%, compared to the pre-ABCC era.

While the ALP went to the 2007 federal election promising to "tear up" WorkChoices, it adopted a far more cautious approach in dealing with the building and construction industry, particularly the ABCC.

To reassure the electorate that it would govern from the centre and would not be beholden to union interests, the ALP made a number of commitments relating to Australia's building and construction industry. One of these was a commitment to retain the ABCC until 31 January 2010.

The ALP also proposed to establish a specialist division within the inspectorate of its planned "industrial relations one stop shop", Fair Work Australia, to take over the ABCC's functions and powers. The specialist division is scheduled to commence operation from 1 February 2010. However the question of whether and to what extent these functions and powers will be retained remains the subject of much debate and uncertainty.

The Wilcox Review

Consultation on the structure, independence, powers, resourcing and other matters including the precise role and powers of the new specialist division is being administered by the Honourable Murray Wilcox QC, a former Australian Federal Court justice. Written submissions for the review closed on 5 December 2008. Justice Wilcox's final report is due to be released on 31 March 2009.

The government provided draft terms of reference for the review and allowed six weeks for submissions and consultation. Despite submissions and consultation, the final terms of reference did not change.

The terms of reference require the review to cover:

  • operational structure of the special division and its relationship with other parts of Fair Work Australia;
  • independence and accountability of the specialist division;
  • external monitoring of the specialist division;
  • the scope for investigations and compliance activities to be undertaken by the specialist division;
  • responsibilities of officers of the specialist division;
  • resolution of disputes and complaints about the activities of the specialist division;
  • commencement of proceedings by the specialist division; and
  • interaction of the specialist division with other federal enforcement agencies.

A preview of the Reviewer's view?

Justice Wilcox has vigorously refuted allegations by some Coalition MPs and industry figures of a pro-union bias and has dismissed these as "a ridiculous assertion". He has also stated that he will not be raking over the findings of the Cole Royal Commission. While promising to take the findings into account, he did say that he considers these findings to be history.

So what views has he expressed on the review? To date, these include:

  • a rejection of union calls that there be no special workplace regulator for the building and construction sector;
  • criticism of the existing arrangements for monitoring the ABCC's use of its compliance powers and flagging the need for stronger external oversight;
  • an insistence that the new body be both independent and accountable as well as free of ministerial intervention;
  • considering time limits on investigations and prosecutions; and
  • suggesting that the new body may keep many of its powers, but conceding that it discriminates against building workers on the basis that "these rules treat building workers more harshly than people in other industries."

The Discussion Paper he issued in October 2008 in particular presents an illuminating insight into his views on the role and powers of the ABCC and what we can expect in his final report.

Tellingly, he states that he has "detected a tendency for many people, on both sides of the employment divide, to assume any new Specialist Division would be much like the ABCC; the ABCC rebadged." He then goes on to say, perhaps somewhat ominously "however, as the song says, 'It ain't necessarily so."

Further, while Justice Wilcox has acknowledged that there has recently been a "better atmosphere" and improvements in the building and construction industry, including significant reductions in days lost due to industrial action, he has queried whether this is due to the ABCC's tough approach to industrial policing. He says there are "a host of reasons" for this.

He has stated that the reduction in time lost in the building industry from 1996 onwards was not necessarily attributable to the ABCC, and that ABS statistics showed there was also substantial reduction in time lost in other industries during the same 12-year period. He suggested that "community-wide" factors may have been responsible for most, if not all, of the reduction in lost time in the construction industry.

Union response – a "human rights" issue

The CFMEU has poured resources into a national advertising campaign advocating the immediate abolition of the ABCC. It argues that construction workers should not be subject to a special industrial relations regime that does not apply to other workers – and has called the current arrangements "a breach of human rights."

Construction unions have also been lobbying MPs. The ACTU has contributed $500,000, and there have been apparently "significant" contributions from CFMEU, AMWU, AWU and CEPU, and television commercials are already well under way.

The unions have made it clear that they will accept nothing less than a complete withdrawal of the federal government's plans for an industry watchdog, arguing that construction industry workers should not be subject to special laws any different from those for other employees and that such treatment amounts to discrimination. There have also apparently been union threats to oppose pre-selection for those who do not support the union position.

In its 5 December 2008 submission to the review, the ACTU states that while "the building and construction industry was characterised in the Cole Royal Commission as being dominated by powerful unions, who are able to impose their wishes upon 'vulnerable' employers...the evidence shows that the true picture of the building and construction industry is one of an industry dominated by large, sophisticated employers and four unions that have been progressively weakened during 12 years of a Coalition government." The ACTU also singled out apprentices and foreign workers as being particularly vulnerable to exploitation on wages.

The Master Builders Association on the other hand has refuted these claims and considers that "building workers have been enjoying wages well ahead of the average Australian for a large number of years now." According to the MBA, construction wage costs were currently increasing by 4.6% a year, and workers in the industry were experiencing higher wage growth than other Australian workers.

Implications for building and construction industry employers

The ongoing existence of a construction watchdog with all of the same powers as were wielded by the ABCC should by no means be taken for granted. Whatever recommendations Justice Wilcox ultimately includes in his report, the final decision will be up to Cabinet.

Since the ALP first revealed its plans for the ABCC, pressure has been steadily building from within Caucus for the government to rein in the ABCC. To date, both Kevin Rudd and Julia Gillard have insisted that the government will not bring forward the abolition of the ABCC or reduce its current powers. They have also clearly stated that the Code and Guidelines and the Building and Construction Industry Improvement Act 2005 will stay until 2010.

Then there is also the likely constitutional challenge to the ABCC's successor on "separation of powers" grounds. These will include questions regarding:

  • whether it is constitutionally valid for the one body to be both prosecutor and judge; and
  • the means by which it will be able to enforce the sanctions and penalties it imposes.

Taking all of these factors into account, it is therefore quite likely that some of the ABCC's current powers, particularly those that relate to investigation and compliance, will be watered down when it commences operation as the specialist division from 1 February 2010. In addition, the specialist division may also be subject to some form of enhanced external monitoring and oversight.

Whether construction industry employers can still rely on a formidable and well-resourced industry watchdog to police Australia's most turbulent industrial landscape from 2010 and beyond may lie in the words - 'it ain't necessarily so'.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.