Australia: Cyber – the year in review: crown jewels, selfies and the view on the horizon

Insurance Update
Last Updated: 27 July 2015
Article by John Moran and Reece Corbett-Wilkins

Introduction

In this article, we give a global round-up of the highs and lows of the past year in the cyber and data breach space, together with our what-to-watch recommendations for the year ahead.

The US hotbed

Theft of 'crown jewels'

In November 2014, Sony found itself at the centre of what has since become one of the most highly publicised cyber-attacks to date. The external attack is said to have resulted in the exfiltration and leaking of over 47,000 files containing sensitive, personal and confidential information and intellectual property, business records, private emails, unreleased movies, and social security numbers of various celebrities. In addition to stealing large quantities of data, the alleged 'threat actors' (a term commonly used to describe those responsible for causing cyber-incidents) are said to have implanted a malicious software program known as 'Wiper' in Sony's network in an attempt to erase data from Sony's servers and render its network inoperable. Although unconfirmed, a group by the name of 'Guardians of the Peace' has claimed responsibility for the attack.

While not entirely clear, the intention of the perpetrators appears to have been, in part, to acquire and leak Sony's intellectual property in the form of unreleased movies and internal business documents. This was one of the first such large scale and public incidents that appears not to have been aimed directly at financial gain. Rather, the attack was directed towards causing massive reputational damage, disruption and inconvenience to Sony's operations, highlighting the varying modus operandi in cyber incidents.

Cyber coverage case – early interpretation of a cyber-policy

In May 2015, a Utah Court handed down its decision in Travelers Property Casualty Company v Federal Recovery Services,1 one of the first decisions in the US to interpret cyber-liability policy wording.

By way of background, a fitness company (Global Fitness Holdings) was being acquired by another fitness company (LA Fitness). As part of the deal, the insured, a third party data storage company (Federal Recovery Services) that held Global Fitness Holding's customer records (including credit card details) was to provide customer records to LA Fitness. Federal Recovery Services refused to provide the records and as a result was sued by Global Fitness Holdings for tortious interference, conversion, and breach of contract. Federal Recovery Services made a claim under a cyber-liability policy in relation to the proceedings. Federal Recovery Services' insurer (Travelers) sought a declaration from the Court that it did not have to provide cover and consequently did not have a duty to defend the proceeding.

The Court held that the policy did not respond and the insurer did not have a duty to defend the proceeding on the basis that the policy provided cover for 'errors, omissions and negligent acts'. In taking this narrow interpretation on the frequently considered issue of what constitutes an error or omission and whether non-negligent acts fall within this definition, the Court found that there was simply no allegation of any error, omission or negligent act on the part of Federal Recovery Services. To the contrary, the Court held that the wrongful conduct alleged (i.e. not providing the data) was deliberate, and that Federal Recovery Services had acted with 'knowledge', 'wilfulness' and 'malice'. The Court also held that the allegations would need to be grounded in negligence before it would trigger an obligation on insurers to defend the proceeding.

The case serves as a reminder that just because a claim involves electronic information, it does not mean that cyber policies will be the 'go-to' policy. It also highlights that international Court decisions on the operation of cyber-policy wordings are coming down the line, albeit slowly. It is also interesting to note that the dispute focusses on an issue (the meaning of Errors & Omission or 'E&O' as it is colloquially known) that is common to a wider group of policies, suggesting the coverage issues that arise from a cyber-breach may have implications for other classes of business.

The dark side of the internet – FBI's annual cyber report

In May 2015, the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Centre (IC3) released its annual report detailing the most frequently received complaints in 2014, which included:

  1. Business email compromise – emails to an organisation, ostensibly from the organisation's suppliers or internal personnel, instructing the organisation to redirect payments to another bank account.
  2. Intimidation / Extortion scam – extortion through emails threatening physical harm, criminal prosecution, or public exposure.
  3. Government impersonation email scam – fake emails ostensibly from a government official seeking bank account details and other personal information.
  4. Confidence Fraud / Romance Scam – fake online dating profiles to solicit money from people who believe they are in an online relationship.
  5. Real Estate Fraud – fake websites inducing buyers / tenants into paying money to purchase or rent properties.
  6. Auto / car dealer fraud – fake online advertisements selling cars however, the vehicle which is purchased is not delivered.

The FBI also noted that social media is being increasingly used to obtain personal information and there is a rise in complaints about crypto-currency transactions.

'Cloud' servers not out of reach – the "selfie" shame of it all

In August 2014, a large number of images of high profile celebrities were obtained from Apple's iCloud servers and disseminated online through various social media outlets. The responsible threat actors are believed to be a ring of hackers, traders and sellers who potentially operated for months prior to the dissemination of the photos. The attack is said to have occurred through a process described as 'brute force' where threat actors, usually with the assistance of an automatic password cracking tool, guess the passwords or the answers to secret questions to the login credentials, thereby successfully gaining access to victims' information. Apple has denied that the attack was a result of a breach of its iCloud or 'Find my iPhone' systems.

This breach highlights that cloud (remote data storage) servers are a potential target for threat actors. As a result, organisations using remote data storage are in effect as cyber resilient as their third party service providers, highlighting the need to have effective monitoring of such systems or at the very least appropriate contractual indemnities in place in the event of a breach.

Major cyber-incidents in Australia

Optus – unintentional inadvertence

In July 2014, Optus voluntarily notified the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) of three separate cyber-incidents. The first and arguably most significant involved Optus publicly listing the personal contact details of about 122,000 of its customers on the White Pages online directory and in various print editions of the White Pages. The unauthorised disclosure is said to have arisen from a coding error on Optus' website, which erroneously recorded the affected customers as having provided consent to their personal details being publicly listed. The second incident involved 300,000 of Optus' modems being issued with 'factory default' settings intact, leaving the modems vulnerable to use by members of the general public. The third incident involved Optus' voicemail system being vulnerable to access by members of the general public.

Following an eight month investigation by the OAIC, Optus and the OAIC agreed to enter into an 'enforceable undertaking' under the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) (Privacy Act), which requires Optus to take specified actions in response to the incidents.

This is the first time that the OAIC has exercised this power since various amendments to the Privacy Act came into force in March 2014. The Optus breach highlights that data breaches are often the result of unintentional inadvertence of an employee, or a system or process. Therefore, organisations should ensure that they develop internal detection and risk management procedures to detect such vulnerabilities.

Woolworths – gift card gaffe

In May 2015, Woolworths found itself at the centre of a data breach that is said to have resulted in the disclosure of the names and email addresses of over 1,000 customers. The breach occurred after customers who purchased Groupon gift vouchers redeemable at Woolworths received, in addition to their own vouchers, a spreadsheet containing the redeemable codes to almost 8,000 vouchers, that had been purchased by other customers. The total value of the vouchers are said to have been over $1m. The cause of the data breach is unclear. Woolworths subsequently issued a statement apologising for the 'technical fault'.

Adobe – a multi-jurisdictional response to a multi-jurisdictional breach

In June 2015, the OAIC finalised its investigation into a global data breach by Adobe that affected 38 million customers including over 1.7 million Australians. The OAIC found that Adobe had breached the Privacy Act. The finding is significant for two reasons:

  1. it provides clarity on what the OAIC considers are 'reasonable steps' to protect personal information from misuse, loss, unathorised access, modification or disclosure; and
  2. the OAIC worked with its overseas equivalent bodies such as the Data Protection Commissioner of Ireland and Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada in understanding the extent of the breach, demonstrating the cross-border regulatory approach to investigating multi-jurisdictional data breaches.

As the breach occurred before 12 March 2014 (being the date that the new Privacy regime came into force in Australia) the investigation took place under the old privacy regime and the OAIC's enforcement powers were limited to making recommendations. Under the new regime, the OAIC has expanded powers, including seeking that compensation be paid, remedial action be taken, or the order of a civil penalty up to $1.7m.

Regulatory and legislative developments in Australia

ASIC to play an increased regulatory role

In March 2015, the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) released a copy of its 'Cyber Resilience Health Check' report, which is aimed at providing a helpful guide for businesses to measure their cyber resilience and ensure that they have taken steps to prevent a cyber-breach. Shortly following the release of the report, ASIC Chairman Greg Medcraft delivered a speech at the ASIC annual forum in which he outlined ASIC's willingness to assist companies reach their desired level of cyber resilience.

The report and the speech are strong indicators of ASIC's intention to play a key role in regulating organisations' compliance with their cyber related obligations, especially as cyber-breaches are a particularly high risk for ASIC regulated organisations because they tend to hold large amounts of personal information. ASIC's move into the information security territory, traditionally occupied by the OAIC, reinforces that cyber-security is the subject of an interconnected and often overlapping legal and regulatory framework therefore, organisations should be alive to the powers of these regulators, and the potential ambit of other regulators including the Australian Communications and Media Authority and the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority.

Data Retention Scheme – a hacker's honeypot

In April 2015, the Telecommunications (Interception and Access) Amendment (Data Retention) Act 2015 (Cth) (Data Retention Act) received assent. The Data Retention Act creates a scheme requiring telecommunications and internet service providers to retain metadata for two years (Data Retention Scheme). As a 'data 101' lesson, metadata can be described as 'data about data', whereas data is more commonly described as the substantive content of any communication. For example, in the case of a telephone call, the metadata would include details such as the date and time of the call, the phone numbers of the participants, and the location of the devices at the beginning and end of the phone call. The data would not include for example, the details of the conversation.

One concern voiced with the Data Retention Scheme is that it will result in relevant organisations likely storing large amounts of metadata for a longer period of time than they might have done so previously. This in and of itself may arguably create a potential honeypot for hackers. Importantly, metadata will be considered 'personal information', and so organisations regulated by the Privacy Act must take steps to ensure that they comply with their privacy obligations.

Mandatory Data Breach Notification Scheme – game changer on the horizon

In March 2014, a private members Bill (the Privacy Amendment (Privacy Alerts) Bill 2014 (Cth)) was introduced before the Senate, seeking to introduce a scheme whereby organisations are obligated to notify affected persons and the OAIC where there is an unathorised disclosure of personal information (Mandatory Data Breach Notification Scheme). Currently no such obligation exists.

It is unclear whether the Mandatory Data Breach Notification Scheme will be introduced through the passage of the above private member's Bill, or whether the Federal Government will introduce separate draft legislation, however, there appears to be an appetite to follow in the footsteps of the US, UK and other jurisdictions who have brought in such mandatory regimes. The question is when and how the obligations will be framed.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
John Moran
 
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.