Australia: Terms of reference announced for additional review of the Renewable Energy Target

Last Updated: 23 February 2014
Article by Elisa de Wit and Wilfred Finn


On 17 February 2014 the Australian Government released the much anticipated terms of reference for an additional non-statutory review of the Renewable Energy Target (RET).

This legal update provides a brief background on the RET, summarises the current statutory review process (including the 2012 Review), outlines the content of the new non-statutory review process announced this week and then concludes with an explanation of the next steps in both processes.


The Howard Coalition Government introduced the original Mandatory Renewable Energy Target (MRET) through the Renewable Energy (Electricity) Act 2000 (Cth) (REE Act).

The objectives of the REE Act are:

  • To encourage the additional generation of electricity from renewable sources;
  • To reduce emissions of greenhouse gases in the electricity sector; and
  • To ensure that renewable energy sources are ecologically sustainable.

As the REE Act notes, "this is done through the issuing of certificates for the generation of electricity using eligible renewable energy sources and requiring certain purchasers (called liable entities) to surrender a specified number of certificates for the electricity that they acquire during a year."

The current RET scheme commenced on 1 January 2011, replacing the MRET, and was designed to fulfil the Australian Government's (then bipartisan) commitment that the equivalent of at least 20% of Australia's electricity would come from renewable sources by 2020.

The RET is now split into two parts:

  • The Large-scale Renewable Energy Target (LRET); and
  • The Small-scale Renewable Energy Scheme (SRES).

Rather than setting a 20% LRET, the REE Act now includes a legislated target of 41,000 GWh of large-scale generation by 2020. Section 40 of the REE Act provides the annual targets, which increase incrementally to reach this 2020 target.

Current review arrangements

Currently the REE Act provides for two-yearly reviews by the Climate Change Authority (CCA). The CCA was established on 1 July 2012 by the Climate Change Authority Act 2011 (Cth) as an independent advisory body on climate change.

In addition to reviewing the RET, the CCA is responsible for periodic reviews on issues such as carbon pollution caps, progress towards meeting national emissions reduction targets (this report is due on 28 February 2014), the Carbon Pricing Mechanism and the Carbon Farming Initiative.

The legislated requirements for the review of the RET are to consider:

  1. the operation of the Act and the scheme constituted by the Act;
  2. the operation of the regulations;
  3. the operation of the Renewable Energy (Electricity) (Large-scale Generation Shortfall Charge) Act 2000;
  4. the operation of the Renewable Energy (Electricity) (Small-scale Technology Shortfall Charge) Act 2010; and
  5. the diversity of renewable energy access to the scheme constituted by the Act, to be considered with reference to a cost benefit analysis of the environmental and economic impact of that access.

The 2012 Review

The CCA published its first review of the RET in December 2012 (see our previous legal update here).

Recognising its legislative obligations, the CCA's 2012 Review covered the following issues:1

  • The capacity of the RET arrangements to support additional generation of electricity from renewable sources to contribute reductions in greenhouse gas emissions at a reasonable cost;
  • The role of the RET and its relationship to other policy measures;
  • The LRET, including the level and trajectory of the target;
  • The SRES, including its design, architecture, and administration;
  • The liability and exemptions framework, and the shortfall charge of both the large-scale and small-scale schemes;
  • The eligibility framework for both schemes and the diversity of renewable energy; and
  • The frequency and scope of future reviews under the REE Act.

In undertaking the 2012 Review, the CCA recognised that the policy landscape and indeed the electricity industry had changed significantly since the introduction of the MRET over a decade previously. As a result, the 2012 Review attempted to balance the promotion of investment in renewable generation with the containment of costs for electricity users.

Accordingly, the findings of the 2012 Review were delivered in four broad themes:

  • Increasing confidence and predictability;
  • Managing overall costs to electricity users and providers;
  • Providing flexibility and choice; and
  • Streamlining administration and compliance costs.

The Gillard Labor Government largely endorsed the CCA's 2012 Review in its formal response in March 2013.2 However, since the change of Federal Government in September 2013, the Coalition Government has attempted to abolish the CCA (though the passage of Climate Change Authority (Abolition) Bill 2013 was unsuccessful in December 2013).

Despite the tabling of the repeal bill and this week's announcement of a terms of reference for a separate panel to review the RET, the CCA nevertheless continues to have a statutory obligation to undertake the 2014 Review. Accordingly, on 14 February 2014 the CCA released a request for tender which closes on 3 March 2014.

The tender is seeking economic analysis of mitigation policies in the electricity sector and the aim of the research is "to explore options and to help inform policy developments in the context of the Government's 2014 Review of the RET and its development of the Emissions Reduction Fund." The final report is due by 30 May 2014.3

Terms of reference for the non-statutory 2014 Review

Notwithstanding the provisions of the REE Act and the CCA's on-going responsibility for the 2014 Review, on Monday this week the Federal Ministers for Industry and the Environment jointly announced the terms of reference for a separate review of the RET by a government-appointed panel.4 The panel will be supported by a secretariat in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

As with the statutory requirements for the review under the REE Act, the terms of reference for this additional review include examination of the operation, costs and benefits of the RET Scheme, as embodied in the REE Act and associated legislation and regulations.

The terms of reference specifically require consideration of:

  • The economic, environmental and social impacts of the RET scheme, in particular the impacts on electricity prices, energy markets, the renewable energy sector, the manufacturing sector and Australian households;
  • The extent to which the formal objects of the Act are being met; and
  • The interaction of the RET scheme with other Commonwealth and State/Territory policies and regulations, including the Commonwealth Government's commitment to reduce business costs and cost of living pressures and cut red and green tape, and the Direct Action policies under development.

Considering the requirements for review set out in the REE Act and the broader content of the CCA's 2012 Review (both noted above), the costs / impacts of the RET scheme, consideration of whether the Act is meeting its objectives and the role of the RET in the broader policy context are all issues which would presumably be part of the CCA's statutory 2014 Review.

The terms of reference also seek advice on:

  • Whether the objective of the RET scheme, to deliver 41,000 GWh and small scale solar generation by 2020, is still appropriate;
  • The extent of the RET's impact on electricity prices, and the range of options available to reduce any impact while managing sovereign risk;
  • The operation of the small-scale and large-scale components of the RET and their interaction;
  • Implications of projected electricity demand for the 41,000 (GWh) target; and
  • Implementation arrangements for any proposed reforms to the RET, including how to manage transition issues, risks and any adjustment costs that may arise from policy changes to the RET.

Again, when reviewing the CCA's 2012 Review, these topics were generally covered in 2012 and it would be expected that they would be revisited by the CCA's 2014 Review. With respect to the last issue on transitional arrangements, clearly any recommendations from either the CCA or the government-appointed panel which proposed reforms to the RET (increases, decreases or otherwise), should sensibly consider any associated structural adjustment.

Finally, and inevitably outside the CCA's legislative responsibilities, the terms of reference seeks advice from the government's panel on its "election commitment to reinstate native forest wood waste as an eligible renewable energy source."

Next steps

Under the REE Act, the CCA is to deliver its 2014 Review by 31 December 2014.

The terms of reference for the non-statutory review provide that the panel is to provide a report to the Prime Minister, the Treasurer and the Ministers for Industry and the Environment by mid-2014.

Interestingly, the joint media release of the Ministers for Industry and the Environment also noted that the review will form part of the broader Energy White Paper process, which is expected to continue throughout 2014.

The REE Act requires the CCA to 'make provision for public consultation.' When considering the CCA's 2012 Review process, it released an Issues Paper in August 2012, received submissions in September, released a discussion paper in October, undertook consultation and feedback in November and then released its final report in December 2012. We would expect that a similar process would occur for this year's statutory review.

Correspondingly, the terms of reference require the panel to "undertake public consultations [and] seek submissions."

Given the prospect of two parallel reviews both with extensive consultation arrangements, our national and international Sustainability and Climate Change teams would be happy to provide further information on the RET, assist in submissions to the two reviews or provide advice on the broader Energy White Paper process.


1See also
3Refer Aus Tender:

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Elisa de Wit
Wilfred Finn
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.